Gullivers review

24 March 2017

The Distractions Live played their latest gig at Gullivers on Oldham Street in central Manchester (or the Northern Quarter to use modern parlance). Nicely supported by Salford duo, Factory Acts, and their dark electronic ambience, The Distractions Live went down a storm, as the Manchester rain beat down outside.

Jonny Poole (left) and Mike Finney.

The set list was the same as at Dulcimer a few weeks earlier - the whole of the 'You're Not Going Out Dressed Like That' EP (TJM) was played, plus most of the classic Island Records LP 'Nobody's Perfect'. A Distractions gig wouldn't be the same without the Factory Records single 'Time Goes By So Slow', and to finish off, a spectacular version of the Velvet Underground's 'Sweet Jane'. Future gigs will see some more of The Distractions' original repertoire dusted off.

Alex Sidebottom.

Set list:

1. Maybe It's Love
2. Too Young
3. Nothing
4. Louise
5. Leave You To Dream
6. Boys Cry
7. Looking For A Ghost
8. Still It Doesn't Ring
9. Something For The Weekend
10. Waiting For Lorraine
11. (Untitled)
12. Stuck In A Fantasy
13. It Doesn't Bother Me
14. Time Goes By So Slow
15. Valerie
16. Sweet Jane

Chris Dutton (guitar).

Among many highlights was an extraordinary and moving rendition of 'Looking For A Ghost' - this remarkable track has rarely been played live - ever - and this version must be heard to be believed! There were some terrific solos from Jonny, and perfect harmonies from both him and bassist Joe. The band, led by original drummer Alex and with Chris on rhythm guitar, were incredibly tight and energetic. The many rehearsals paid off! And last but never least, Mike has simply never sounded as good as he does today - both in this Live band and on the new Distractions albums. 

Joe Brehony (bass).

There are more Distractions gigs coming up in Ashton-under-Lyne, Whalley Range, Bury and Preston, and the plan is to do many more. Watch this space. The superb photos shown here are courtesy of Susan Ni Sheaghdha of Factory Acts (see their Bandcamp, SoundcloudFacebook and Twitter pages for details of their new releases).

No comments:

Post a Comment